Rivian Forum – Rivian R1T & R1S News, Pricing & Order... banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to the EV game. Wondering what has the biggest impact on efficiency other than the obvious things like tires, weight, and driving habits. Does running heat and a/c have a significant impact? I know about the drive modes, but just curious how much or little cutting down on normal driving functions impacts an EV.

·
Registered
562 Posts
I think the biggest thing that's under your control is speed. Aerodynamic drag increases in proportion to the square of the velocity. So if you drive at 70mph instead of 60mph (for example), your speed is 17% higher but your drag is 36% higher (70/60 = 1.17, and 1.17 x 1.17 = 1.36). So small increases in speed can reduce your range by a lot, and small decreases in speed can increase your range.

Anything that increases drag, e.g. bikes mounted on the roof, or towing a trailer, will have a disproportionate effect.

All of this also affects ICE vehicles the same amount, but most people are unaware of it because they don't have a large range readout to reinforce their latent range anxiety.

·
Registered
514 Posts
I all depends on the driving situation you're in. Drag matters most at freeway speeds, which is when range also matters the most (because you're more likely to go long distances if you find yourself on the freeway). So I agree with O's comments above. Other things:

Around town (when efficiency matters less because range is less of a concern), i.e. at speeds where drag matters less, your driving style makes a big difference. If you always punch it off the line and brake hard to slow down your efficiency drops a lot.