Rivian Forum – Rivian R1T & R1S News, Pricing & Order... banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, question about charging at home. Does the R1 come with a "charging cable" similar to the Tesla cars? Or is the only way to charge at home with the $500 wall charger? I'm already set up in my garage with the 240V 50A power line, so I can add the wall charger. However, with the Tesla cars, I would just plug the mobile charging cable into the outlet. I havent seen much info about this.

·
Registered
178 Posts
I believe that the Rivian will come with its own cable (think it's on the website) but you can ask customer support for a more definitive answer.

It sounds like you have a NEMA 14-50 outlet already in place (4-pole 240v/50 amp receptacle, with 2 hots, a neutral and a dedicated ground). That should be all you need to charge the Rivian, assuming that cable that will come with it has a matching 4-pole male end. I'm not an expert in EV charging systems however, just someone familiar with wiring electric ranges. Hopefully someone with EV experience will confirm or failing that, set me straight.

·
Registered
2 Posts
hi all, question about charging at home. Does the R1 come with a "charging cable" similar to the Tesla cars? Or is the only way to charge at home with the $500 wall charger? I'm already set up in my garage with the 240V 50A power line, so I can add the wall charger. However, with the Tesla cars, I would just plug the mobile charging cable into the outlet. I havent seen much info about this.

·
Registered
3 Posts