Rivian Forum – Rivian R1T & R1S News, Pricing & Order... banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just did my first EV roadtrip. We went from our home on Cape Cod up to Acadia National Park in Maine. 360 miles each way, so it required charging stops. I'm a new EV driver so this is probably old news for most here, but might be useful to others in my shoes.

The good:
  • Overall, I feel like Rivian has delivered on their promise with the R1T. It's a great road tripper and ready for anything. I have about 1500 miles on it and am happy overall, despite some peculiarities (more on than later)
  • I love Driver+ (most of the time). When the road isn't crowsded and its long and straight, it's awesome. The adaptive cruise control is also great on secondary roads, with or without traffic
  • I developed a new appreciation for the "conserve" mode for highway travel. Makes a fairly large difference in overall range and you don't really miss the performance at highway speeds (around town it is terrible)
  • We were stopped by people at least 12 times throughout the weekend. Pretty much any time we got out of or into the car somebody wanted to talk about it.

The bad:
  • The navigation system is awful. Route selection doesn't seem to incorporate real-time traffic. What's worse is that it will literally send you to the wrong place. We routed from Porland to Kittery in search of charging (more on that later) and it literally landed us in the wrong town in the center of some awful tourist traffic. We wasted an hour getting through it to find our desired destination was 11 miles away. Pretty inexcusable given the maturity of other platforms
  • Another head scratcher is how dependent the infotainment system is on cell service. For a vehicle that markets itself as an adventure vehicle meant to be off the beaten path, itis odd that you lose the ability to map new routes and have super spotty performance on Spotify when you are in the wild