Rivian Forum – Rivian R1T & R1S News, Pricing & Order... banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
R1S, Forrest Green/Black
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the EV segment and the Rivian will be my first EV so if this seems stupid I fully accept that.

If I was to have my Rivian charged at say 90% but then not drive it for a week, you know like during a pandemic or something, would I lose charge so that in 7 days I jump in and it would be at 50%. Also thinking about airports and trips. If I drive to an airport, park the car, get on a plane and show up 8 days later.

Basically does a sitting vehicle lose charge? If so what is the expected loss?

·
Registered
159 Posts
Every car has different battery management features so you need to make sure you read the manual. There will likely be features designed to provide for a seamless driving experience on a daily basis that can be disabled if you're intending to let it sit for a week or weeks. Otherwise you will lose a very small percentage overnight or over extended periods without use/charging.

·
Registered
559 Posts
I am new to the EV segment and the Rivian will be my first EV so if this seems stupid I fully accept that.

If I was to have my Rivian charged at say 90% but then not drive it for a week, you know like during a pandemic or something, would I lose charge so that in 7 days I jump in and it would be at 50%. Also thinking about airports and trips. If I drive to an airport, park the car, get on a plane and show up 8 days later.

Basically does a sitting vehicle lose charge? If so what is the expected loss?
The electronics are never fully off, so a sitting vehicle does consume some power... But it's a relatively small draw. You should be able to let the vehicle sit for weeks and only lose a few miles of range. You're not going to go from 90% to 50% in a week or two.

·
Registered
204 Posts