Rivian Forum – Rivian R1T & R1S News, Pricing & Order... banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just watched the Out of Spec episode where they took the R11T in some slippery & snowy conditions and there is some concerning revelations.

1) Headlights ice over because the LED's don't put out enough heat.
2) Rear diff locks up under regen braking.

My daily commute is over a very snowy, very icy, very steep (10% grade) mountain pass and I've been concerned with the weight of the truck it would struggle on icy inclines. Seeing this review does not ease my concerns. I understand the rear diff problem could be corrected with an OTA updated snow/mud drive setting, but not sure there is much they can do about the headlights. Maybe I'm wrong 🤷‍♂️

I've been making this drive everyday for 5+ years so I've driven through some gnarly conditions, however stakes are raised when you're driving a $90k truck with service/repair unknowns.

Anyone else concerned?

·
Registered
1,264 Posts
Hey @TetonR1T I've had LED headlights on other cars get snow ice stuck to them. You'll either have to brush it off yourself or try a hydrophobic spray.

It's annoying because LEDs provide way better visibility than Halogens you'd think car companies would solve this issue already. What do you currently drive for your daily commute?

·
Registered
24 Posts
@TetonR1T In the following videos, he does also comment that the lights freezing seemed to be an isolated incident, it didn't happen again and he put a couple thousand miles on it. as for the regen locking up in the snow, I'm sure that will be updated in software, but in the meantime, you could shut it off in the snow?

·
Registered
571 Posts
Just watched the Out of Spec episode where they took the R11T in some slippery & snowy conditions
If you're going to comment on a video it would be nice to provide a link / cite your source. For the record, it's here: