Rivian Forum – Rivian R1T & R1S News, Pricing & Order... banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We just put our order down for the R1S but I'm wondering if anyone else is considering the Volvo XC90 all electric (recharge) that is supposed to launch at the same time. I'm very new to this car comparison game so not sure how to compare the two. We are a family of 4 maybe eventually 5 and have a large dog. We are looking for that third row to carry grandparents when they visit and the dog and gear for long road trips. I'm guessing right now that Rivian's battery range will be longer and the car will be overall bigger. We are not replacing our current car but will be using the R1S or XC90 as our primary car. I have seen lots of comparison with Tesla for the 3 row option just wondering if anyone else is comparing these two.

What we really like about the Volvo is the dashboard while being modern still has buttons (my husband likes buttons) and android auto is the UI that Volvo has chosen to go with and we are android users.

The XC90 would have the be amazing to get me to switch because I love Rivian, but my other half isn't as sold yet.

·
Registered
800 Posts
I drive a Volvo currently, and I love it. They're extremely comfortable, and consistently among the safest vehicles you can drive.

My wife and I looked at the XC40 Recharge and mostly liked it. However, Volvo's approach to BEVs is very much as a traditional "ICE" manufacturer. There is no "frunk" or other clever packaging. They took an ICE platform and retrofit BEV components in just the way you'd expect a traditional ICE manufacturer to do so. Range is mediocre, as well.

I wish Volvo would have designed an electric SUV from the ground up.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I drive a Volvo currently, and I love it. They're extremely comfortable, and consistently among the safest vehicles you can drive.